The Foreigners Are Home

I remember the rain best of all;
But it was more like a dense mist,
Allowing the occasional droplet to fall
On lampposts, like little kisses.

I remember feeling incredibly shaken
And wondering if it was the fear,
Nervousness, anxiety or the sheer
Number of painkillers I had taken.

I remember the awe I felt
Staring at a castle looming over me.
If these were the cards I’d been dealt
Then I suppose I could find a family

In those who too had been in awe
At the dream that we could live
As our reality; a castle, but so much more.
A chance to make a new world live.

Leave a Reply

