An onslaught of Haikus

So I don’t typically write these kinds of posts for this blog, but I’ve been saving up some haikus I’ve written in celebration of the summer.

The traditional haiku is written in three lines, with no rhyme necessary, but a syllable count of 5,7,5. Most people know this. However what is often neglected about haikus is that they are a kind of poetry reserved solely for the celebration of nature. 

Most of the haikus I will be posting follow this extra rule; however I have written a few that encapsulate modern life in the city, the “nature” that is the urban jungle as it were (I can actually hear the cringe worthiness of that sentence, but I’m too tired and much too aware that nobody will read this to write something less… Cheesy.)

With that in mind, it’s haiku time everyone!

Leave a Reply

