My Demons Sing Me To Sleep

There.
That slow moving shadow
Slipping sadistically through rooms
And settling above my bed.

There.
The blinds are not too narrow
That a passerby could not gaze in
And snipe me in the head.

I know it’s just paranoia
But the noises are so peculiar
That I can’t help but see something
More, though I’ll admit it’s nothing.

The footsteps are in my head
There are no monsters ‘neath my bed
I’ll chant this mantra until I sleep
And the devils awaken from the deep.

Leave a Reply

