My prince won’t come but an adult male redstart will

The knock on my window, at three
In the morning, was 
annoying
And not romantic. And mostly
Because the knocker 
was a bird.
 
Now I don’t don’t think I’m that picky
But I don’t enjoy
Wake up calls
And especially when they’ll be
From the mouth of a
Black redstart.
Just shut up, won’t you leave me be?
I was just falling
To deep sleep.
Do you know how long it takes me
To silence them all
To quieten?
Your singing won’t make my head free
I like my bubble;
It hides me.
My sweet play world I choose to see
So I’ll shy away
From your song.
It’s nicer to live in make believe
Than love a redstart that’ll leave.

Leave a Reply

